Behind the Scenes, In a Day

Sketching

I didn’t start knowing how to draw shoes. My first drawing was an attempt to see if I’m a natural. I was naturally wrong. I hid this drawing of mine for months – I know I could do better than this. This was in late 2010.

In 2011. Things changed. I had a very strict drawing teacher and she re-taught me how to draw. After school, during dinner, at the park, I had a sketch book and crayon with me. I started learning with crayon and months later, I was confident to draw with pencil. My favorite –  the 2H pencil.

Every time I need to design a collection, my biggest challenge is, to put in paper, what I have in mind. If I’m lucky, my drawing is exactly how I pictured it to be. Otherwise, I’ll put it on hold and get back to it when my head, heart and hand decide to make it easy for me.

I’m still working on my sketches. It is a process.

Here’s my journey. Lesson learned: Nothing is impossible.

Image

This was way back in 2010. Oh dear!

Image

The crayon was my best friend.

Image

Enjoying my time at the park in Florence, 2011.

Standard

Leave a Reply

