Artisan, How Shoes are Made

Artisan Technique: The Insole

I thought I’d share some photos I took which document the process of shoemaking.

After a shoe last is chosen, the bottom of the shoe or sole is then prepared. Cutting hard leather and hammering nails was definately a fun learning process – which took me no less than one day to finish. After which, it took another two weeks for the leather to properly take shape of the last.

In case you are wondering, the shank is the steel placed onto the sole. It’s main purpose is to support the foot, helps give shoe its structure and to prevent shoes from bending.


In my next post, I will share on pattern-making and leather cutting.

Have you ever wondered how leather is made?

Standard

Leave a Reply

